Apply to register to vote

Apply to join the electoral register so you can vote in local and national elections.

How long it takes

Once you've applied to register to vote, your details need to be checked and verified.

If your details cannot be verified, we may contact you to ask for more evidence of your identity.

When we've confirmed your application to register to vote is valid, you'll be added to the electoral register in line with the dates in the table below.

We'll send you a confirmation letter once we've added your details to the electoral register.

2021 registration deadlines

If you applied to register to vote by: You'll be added to the register on:

Friday 11 December 2020

Monday 4 January 2021

Friday 8 January 2021 Monday 1 February 2021
Friday 5 February 2021 Monday 1 March 2021
Wednesday 10 March 2021 Thursday 1 April 2021

Monday 12 April 2021

Tuesday 4 May 2021

Monday 10 May 2021

Tuesday 1 June 2021

Wednesday 9 June 2021

Thursday 1 July 2021

Friday 9 July 2021

Monday 2 August 2021

Tuesday 10 August 2021

Wednesday 1 September 2021

Thursday 9 September 2021

Friday 1 October 2021

Friday 8 October 2021

Monday 1 November 2021

When there's an election

If you submitted a valid application to register to vote up to 12 working days before polling day, you'll be able to vote at that election.

Registration dates are set in law. Information cannot be published early.