Electoral ward boundary review

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England (the Commission) published its final recommendations for Lambeth’s revised electoral arrangements in September 2021

These have now been approved by Parliament and will come into force at the borough council elections on Thursday 5 May 2022.

Electoral wards

Lambeth Council currently has 21 wards. These are local areas, like Coldharbour and Thornton.

Each ward is currently represented by 3 councillors, elected every 4 years to represent the best interests of the residents in their ward. Some council services and neighbourhood policing are organised by ward.

The Commission’s recommendations

The Commission recommended 63 councillors for Lambeth, covering 25 new wards, each with 2 or 3 members. 

These recommendations have now been approved by Parliament and will come into force at the borough council elections on Thursday 5 May 2022.

See our new ward boundary map for May 2022 (PDF 3.1MB)

View the Commission’s final recommendations.

View the 25 ward maps

What these changes mean for the borough

Lambeth Council will continue to have 63 councillors but there will be 13 three-member wards and 12 two-member wards.

View our interactive map of the new wards.

Implementation of the new wards required a statutory review of Lambeth’s polling districts and polling places. This is because existing polling district boundaries do not align with ward changes and new boundaries needed to be devised. A polling place also needed to be designated for each polling district. 

The polling districts and polling places review is now complete. Details can be viewed on our polling district and polling review 2021 webpage.

Stage 2 of the Parliamentary Review for the London Constituencies is also underway

Why the wards were reviewed

Since the last review in 1999, the population in some of the wards has grown more than others and there's more development taking place, like in the north of the borough.

Throughout the 3 stages of the review, the Commission considered the following factors:

  • The number of wards
  • The names of wards
  • Where the boundaries between wards should lie
  • The number of councillors for each ward
  • Voter population for each ward
  • Voter population represented by each councillor
  • Interests and identities of communities across Lambeth