Electoral ward boundary review

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission England (the Commission) is asking for residents’ help to create a new pattern of electoral wards in Lambeth.

Electoral wards

Lambeth is currently divided into 21 wards. These are local areas, like Coldharbour and Thornton.

Each ward is represented by 3 councillors, who are elected every 4 years to represent the best interests of the residents in their ward. Some council services and neighbourhood policing are organised by ward.

By drawing up new ward boundaries, the Commission is aiming for each councillor to represent roughly the same number of voters.

The review will also try to create wards that reflect the interests and identities of communities across Lambeth.

Why the wards are being reviewed

Since the last review in 1999, the population in some of the wards has grown more than others and there's more development taking place, like in the north of the borough.

Your views about the ward boundaries are important in making sure there's effective governance for Lambeth in the future.

The Commission would like to hear opinions on:

  • the number of wards
  • the names of wards
  • where the boundaries between wards should lie
  • the number of councillors for each ward

The consultation

Stage 1

Stage 1 took place between 14 July and 21 September 2020.

Residents were asked to submit ideas about where the ward boundaries should be drawn, if any wards should have new names, and how many councillors should represent each ward.

Stage 2

Stage 2 took place between 2 February and 12 April 2021.

Residents were asked to comment on the Commission’s proposed scheme. They proposed 26 wards with varying number of councillor representation per ward.

Stage 3

Stage 3 took place between 29 June and 26 July 2021.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England received over 700 submissions for Stage 2. As a result, they took a decision to extend the review and focus on 6 specific ward areas. The consultation focused on the following areas:

The areas south and east of Clapham Common & Stockwell Tube stations:

  • Clapham Common
  • Stockwell East & Landor

The area in the south east of the borough:

  • Tulse Hill
  • West Norwood
  • West Dulwich St Martin’s
  • Gipsy Hill

Residents were asked to submit any recommendations, opinions, and comments to the Commission on those particular areas only.

View an interactive map of the Stage Proposals.

Final decision

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published their Final Recommendations Report

This report will now be submitted to Parliament for a formal review. Parliament will issue a decision later this year. Should the report be approved, the new wards would be enacted for the Local Elections on 5 May 2022.

Stage 2 of the Parliamentary Review for the London Constituencies will also get underway in 2022